top of page

About Us

Bruton and Cary Deanery

The Bruton and Cary Deanery is one of nineteen deaneries in the Diocese of Bath and Wells, part of the Church of England.  It consists of 42 mainly rural parishes in the south-east corner of the Diocese, divided into eleven benefices.

The Deanery Synod, consisting of representatives from the parishes, meets three times a year to consider matters of interest to the parishes and to promote the whole mission of the Church in the Deanery.

A key element of this is the Deanery Mission Plan "Living and Telling The Story in Bruton and Cary Deanery"

The Assistant Area Dean

The Revd Tristram Rae Smith

The Lay Dean

(formerly the Deanery Lay Chair)


Dr Rob Sage

Tel: 01749 850934


The Deputy Lay Dean

Mr Jeremy Pratt

Who's Who in the Deanery

The Area Dean

(formerly the Rural Dean)


The Revd Kevin Rogers

Tel: 01963 363832


bottom of page